Otolaryngology!

IMG_1188

I never thought I’d say this… but guys, I matched into my top specialty and at my top institution. Starting in July 2016, I will be studying to become an otolaryngologist – head and neck surgeon (do we have the longest specialty name?)!

IMG_1133

I was literally in tears on Monday of Match Week when I got my email. My best friend CT and I wanted to open our emails together… but my phone wasn’t ping-ing emails to me, so I tried to refresh… and lo and behold, the first words I saw were “Congratulations!” before I started bawling uncontrollably. Now that I’ve matched I feel a little more cavalier about discussing my application process, but basically, if otomatch means anything, I was severely below average for just about everything (my Step scores, my grades/AOA status, my research, my # of interviews). Going into Monday, I had already met with my faculty advisors several times to discuss what to do next year if I didn’t match, and I had mentally prepared myself to participate in the SOAP (scramble). Thankfully, I didn’t need to! And honestly, that news on Monday was enough for me. :)

The days leading up to Friday, I was in a state of anxious calm. Mostly calm but occasionally irrationally thinking that maybe the email was a fluke. My school randomly calls up students, and when I finally held the envelope in my hands, I felt like I really knew that Everything was going to be okay. Match Day was emotional overall; I ended up getting not only my top choice but also the same institution that CT will be going to, as well as a couple of my other classmates. I can’t believe my luck.

Since Match, I have been on a surgery “bootcamp” class that my school offers to help prepare us for intern year. I’ve learned so much from how to respond to a page, how to do pre-op and post-op orders, “palming” a needle driver, and more. The last week of the class, we were gifted the opportunity to be primary surgeon on a simple operation for three days related to our specialty. I got to perform a rhomboid flap reconstruction for a cheek defect with the plastic surgery team, a tracheostomy with the OHNS team, and a neck dissection with a thyroid surgeon. I honestly cannot wait for intern year to begin. I know it will be busy, but I feel so blessed to be where I am, getting to do a specialty I love and finally having the power to take care of others and hopefully make their lives better.

One thought on “Otolaryngology!

Reply?

